top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiluska E. Aquije

How It all Started

Heartbroken on the situation on the border with children caged, I remember receiving an email update November 1th, 2018 from Project Eñye, where Denise Soler Cox gave the question: “What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail?” I dreamed on what that would entail from coming out of the shadows to audaciously share my story as an undocumented Latina who was a product of a gracious faith community whom have rallied me on to complete both my Bachelors degree and Masters degree. I dreamed on one day coaching others who are suffering from the grief and pain of the injustices the Trump administration has risen up for so many. To be a pastor growing in a church community and aiding others in spiritual formation. Lastly, become a PhD candidate achieving a doctorate degree to break the glass ceiling for my ethnic identity along with serving as a motivator for Latino youth to continue further education regardless of the statistics being low of people like us in a classroom. With all the courage I could muster out, I emailed the Project Eñye team to receive an application to apply for Denise’s coaching program. Speaking to her on November 7th, I felt completely at home. I found someone who genuinely understood the risk of vulnerability and wasn’t withholding her own regarding her journey on creating a film on her story on not feeling nor Latina or American enough. We connected immediately as she helped with awesome questions for me to reflect upon why I’ve never pursued my dream and the importance of its urgency. I believe it is urgent to share my story as a Dreamer/DACA recipient because many only have misconceptions, biases but never have known the specific aspects of an undocumented young adult life. The more our society is engaged in high technological gadgets, the more disconnected we become from each others humanity. Engaging in storytelling breaks away the walls of divisions and makes us voyager partners by disengaging statistics with a face — which disarms the hostility surrounding our nation. I’ve had many “Ah ha” moments after Trump was elected which have taught me the significance of this statement. Will share more soon!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page